Issue Details (XML | Word | Printable)

Key: CORE-5571
Type: Improvement Improvement
Status: Open Open
Priority: Minor Minor
Assignee: Unassigned
Reporter: Dimitry Sibiryakov
Votes: 0
Watchers: 4
Operations

If you were logged in you would be able to see more operations.
Firebird Core

Restore database and leave it in single user shutdown state

Created: 26/Jun/17 10:52 AM   Updated: 26/Jun/17 02:42 PM
Component/s: GBAK
Affects Version/s: None
Fix Version/s: None

QA Status: No test


 Description  « Hide
Database recovery isn't always complete after backup restore. In some cases it needs some additional steps. To prevent users from accessing database during these steps, it would be good to have a gbak/services option to leave the database in single user maintenance mode after restore.

 All   Comments   Change History   Subversion Commits      Sort Order: Ascending order - Click to sort in descending order
Alexander Peshkov added a comment - 26/Jun/17 01:32 PM
In some cases (for example, when index participating in FK fails to activate) this is already done. I.e. I agree that leaving DB in maintenance mode is good idea, the question is - after what errors this does not happen?

Dimitry Sibiryakov added a comment - 26/Jun/17 01:53 PM
Without any error. A new option for the service: leave the database down even on success.

Sean Leyne added a comment - 26/Jun/17 01:58 PM
Why is a new option required?

When user can restore to a different filename/location to perform any additional steps, then rename the file when ready for production use.

Dimitry Sibiryakov added a comment - 26/Jun/17 02:07 PM
You can restore database onto remote server. You cannot rename files on remote server using Firebird services.

Adriano dos Santos Fernandes added a comment - 26/Jun/17 02:34 PM
A "single user maintenance mode" won't let others connect before you and leave you locked?

Dimitry Sibiryakov added a comment - 26/Jun/17 02:36 PM - edited
IIRC, only SYSDBA and database owner can connect to a database in this mode. Exactly because of this this mode is set for the database during restore process.